• Constitutional Law;
  • Criminology;
  • Criminal Law;
  • Economics Law;
  • Environmental Law;
  • Health Law;
  • Human Rights Law;
  • Indigenous Law;


  • International and Comparative Law;
  • Jurisprudence;
  • Justice Studies;
  • Employment Law;
  • Legal Process;
  • Legal Practice Administration; and
  • Maritime Law.


The discipline of Law is suitable for people wanting to become lawyers, legal advisers in business or pursue a career through law enforcement agencies.

Law programs in Australia cover the following specialisations:

Banking, Business and Commercial Law;

Intellectual Property Law;

Law programs are offered at the following qualification levels:

  • Diploma
  • Advanced Diploma
  • Bachelor Degree
  • Graduate Certificate
  • Postgraduate Diploma
  • Masters by research/coursework
  • Professional Doctorates/PhD

Law administration programs such as Justice Administration and Legal Practice can be studied at all qualification levels. Students wishing to pursue law for a career as a practising lawyer (eg. a solicitor or barrister) would enrol in an accredited higher education program such as a Bachelor of Laws (LLB).


Vocational & Technical Education Programs

Typical programs offered at TAFE and private colleges include:




Diploma of Justice Administration; Diploma of Justice;
Diploma of Legal Practice.

Advanced Diploma

Advanced Diploma of Business (Legal Practice).

Students who have completed the equivalent to Australian grade 12 would be considered for entry into VET programs. Some programs require students to have achieved a satisfactory grade in English as a pre-requisite. International equivalent qualifications include:

  • completion of A Levels;
  • Sijil Tinggi Persekolahan Malaysia (STPM);
  • All-Indian Secondary School Certificate;
  • the International Baccalaureate.

University Programs

Universities offer both Legal Administration and Law programs. Typical programs include:




Bachelor of Arts (Law major);
Bachelor of Arts in Criminology and Criminal Justice; Bachelor of Business (Law major);
Bachelor of Laws (LLB);
Bachelor of Laws and Legal Practice;
Bachelor of Justice Studies.


Graduate Certificate of Law;
Graduate Certificate of Legal Education;
Postgraduate Diploma of Legal Practice Skills and Ethics; Masters of Laws (LLM);
Masters of Applied Law;
Doctor of Juridical Science;
Juris Doctor.


There are two strands of law programs:

  • those that allow a student to gain knowledge of the law – for example, Bachelor of Arts in

Criminology and Criminal Justice, and Masters of Applied Law;

  • those programs that provide academic qualifications for students wanting to practise law – for example, Bachelor of Laws (LLB) and Juris Doctor. Typically these kinds of programs have higher entry requirements than the general law programs.


  • Entry to Legal Administration programs starts from A Level entry requirement of 5 points (LINK to 8) (minimum of 2 full A Level Academic subjects).
  • Entry to Bachelor of Laws (LLB) ranges from A Level entry requirement of 11 points to 10 points. Postgraduate

Coursework postgraduate law programs are available for law professionals wishing to further their studies, for example the LLM; non-law professionals who wish to gain a knowledge in law such as the Masters of Applied Law; and non-law professionals wishing to gain the academic qualifications to practise law such as the Juris Doctor. Examples of entry requirements include:

  • Juris Doctor – is designed for non-law graduates wishing to practise law. Entry requirements generally are a recognised Australian Bachelor Degree.
  • Masters of Laws (LLM) – is an advanced law program and can include both research and coursework components. Students are required to have completed an Australian law degree.
  • Masters of Justice Studies – is at the lower end of the entry requirement scale. Students require a pass degree equivalent to an Australian Bachelor Degree.

Research programs in the law discipline usually require students to have completed a bachelor’s degree with Honours I or II.


Pathways are available for students wishing to pursue Legal Administration or Justice Studies. Pathways for students wishing to enrol in Law, however, are less common due to the accreditation requirements. Pathways tend to be for upgrading academic qualifications.

Credit is rarely given when students are transferring from Diploma or Advanced Diploma to an LLB at university. Double Degrees are also offered with Law, which allows students to combine Law with another discipline such as:

  • LLB / Bachelor of Commerce;
  • Bachelor of Engineering / LLB.


Professional Associations

Law programs in Australia sometimes include a practical component where students acquire some practical experience in a law organisation such as a solicitor’s office. Students are also exposed to Moot Courts and assessed on their performance.

Most Australian law programs are recognised internationally. However, some students from select countries may be required to complete further studies to practise in their home country.

On graduation from a law program students may be eligible for membership to an international professional association such as:


  • Law Council of Australia (LCA)
  • Council of the Bars and Law Societies of Europe (CCBE)
  • International Law Students Association (ILSA)

Law Enforcement

  • Australian Federal Police Association (AFPA)
  • International Police Association (IPA)
  • Australasian Council of Women and Policing (ACWAP)

Career Opportunities

Intelligence Analyst; Lawyer/Barrister/Solicitor/Magistrate; Legal Aid Officer;

Legal Secretary;
Police Officer;
Private Investigator; and Youth Worker.


Useful Information

Government sites

  • Australia – Country Information (DFAT)
  • Australian Demographic Statistics, March 2011 (ABS)
  • Public Holidays

Tourism sites

  • Australian Capital Tourism Corporation
  • Tourism New South Wales
  • Northern Territory Tourism Commission
  • Tourism Queensland
  • South Australian Tourism Commission
  • Tourism Tasmania
  • Tourism Victoria
  • Western Australian Tourism Commission

Weather Information

  • Rainfall and Temperature graphs (BOM)
  • you also can find weather information about cities around the world from World Climate.

Standard Times

Australia has both Standard Times and Daylight Saving Times (note that GMT stands for Greenwich Mean Time).






Eastern Standard Time (EST)

New South Wales Australian Capital Territory Victoria

+ 10


Central Standard Time (CST)

South Australia Northern Territory

+ 9.5


Western Standard Time (WST)

Western Australia




Daylight Saving Times





Eastern Daylight/Summer Time (EDT)

New South Wales Australian Capital Territory Victoria

+ 11


Central Daylight/Summer Time (CDT)

South Australia

+ 10.5


Western Daylight/Summer Time (WDT)

Western Australia

+ 9.0


No Daylight Saving Times – use Standard Times

Queensland Northern Territory

+ 10 + 9.5

7:00pm 6:30pm

Refer to the Bureau of Meteorology for the start and finish dates of daylight saving times.